RSS

Subject Access Request, SAR.

03 Dec

Now here’s something I didn’t know.

From (with many thanks): http://www.nominedeus.co.uk/?p=886

Emphasis in red are mine.

The Subject Access Request, SAR.

On November 17, 2011 by Pete

What is it, what can it do, why use it?

What it is in the most simple terms is an instrument to demand information on a subject.

What it can do is stop those that are chasing you for any kind of debt. It also allows you to gain much more information than a court will order under disclosure,

Use it and see how any company or organisation rapidly back off.

What is a subject? That subject could be a human being or a person.

I have used the SAR on many occasions and it does stop those that wish to cause harm.

How does it work?

Under the Data Protection Act 1998 we have the right to demand the personal data held and it must be supplied within forty days. If it is not supplied then the company/organisation are in breach of the Data Protection Act 1998, they should then be given the opportunity to cure. However this will normally be ignored in the same way that the original request was.

So now you might think that this is a toothless piece of legislation!

It is not as they have played right into your hands. What happens next is simple, upon the default of the company/organisation to provide the SAR is simple, a formal complaint is made to the Information Commissioners Office (ICO) and watch them scramble to get your information.

This method is very workable for those with limited knowledge of the statutes and should be passed onto as many men and women as possible.

What has a SAR done for me?

I have used SAR and other means to stop council tax demands.

I have used SAR to claim back bank charges, and won!

I have used SAR to halt debt collection agencies.

I have used SAR to stop bailiffs and sheriffs officers in their tracks.

I will update via new posts and provide documents on how I have performed and the results attained.

Peace out.

Pete

Typical SAR Template ( I don’t use templates but this may help)

Subject Access Request letter

(Insert own address)

(Insert date)

(Insert organisation address)

To the company secretary (if contact unknown),

Re: (insert name and current address)

I am writing to make a subject access request under the Data Protection Act 1998 for any personal information you hold about me (or include specific details about the information you require here).

(Insert any information you think the organisation will need to find your information and to confirm your identity. For example, your employer may need your payroll number, and a hospital may need your NHS number; other organisations may require a document bearing your signature for example your passport or your driving licence).

Please inform me, prior to processing this request, if you require a fee to be paid.

I will look forward to receiving this information within 40 days.  If you have any queries or questions then please contact me on (insert phone number/email address).

Yours faithfully,

(Insert own name) “

 

One response to “Subject Access Request, SAR.

  1. tinkerbell

    2011-12-03 at 10:26

    Thanks for this info I will try this out when I know who I am sending it to.

     

Leave a comment