RSS

£70 Courts Summons, Council Tax and the Law

30 Dec

Many thanks to the Libertarian Alliance: (https://libertarianalliance.wordpress.com/2011/12/18/council-tax-and-the-law/)

Council Tax and the Law

The Off-White, Though Still Very Sharp, Teeth of the British State By David Webb

I sent a long email to a Conservative councillor about council tax summons – and the way they are automated by the council computer system without judicial oversight (a magistrate has to review the evidence before each summons is sent out – pretty impossible when 4m of these summons are being sent out a year – I don’t expect there is even a pro forma attempt at getting the summons signed off by the courts; I expect the courts have ‘agreed’ that the council computers should just send out summons letters without judicial oversight); the way in which council tax cases in magistrates courts are illegally conducted by council officials with no magistrates present; and the way in which £70 is charged for the summons although the summons costs £3 [NE Lincolnshire,  a neighbouring area, made £174000 in half an hour from these £70  fees recently  by summoning thousands of people to court for one hearing, and  only 14 turned  up – there is no indication that only ‘reasonable costs’ are  charged].

The councillor is a former magistrate and told me on the phone that I am a customer of the council. When I said “I want to take my custom elsewhere; I don’t want to be their customer”, she replied “if you’re disputing the right to levy council tax, it all becomes much more complicated” and sent me a meaningless one sentence email on the subject. The following three emails are the correspondence between me and the councillor. I deleted my phone number and address and council tax reference number.

Read the rest here: https://libertarianalliance.wordpress.com/2011/12/18/council-tax-and-the-law/

 

3 responses to “£70 Courts Summons, Council Tax and the Law

  1. living home products

    2013-06-28 at 13:23

    Hey there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay. I’m undoubtedly
    enjoying your blog and look forward to new
    updates.

     
  2. authorized ge appliance repair bronxville ny

    2013-08-10 at 04:33

    Hello there I am so excited I found your blog,
    I really found you by error, while I was researching on Askjeeve for something else, Anyhow I am here
    now and would just like to say thanks for a marvelous post and a all round
    thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the minute but I have saved it and also added your RSS
    feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the fantastic work.

     
  3. screencast software

    2013-08-13 at 02:59

    I get pleasure from, cause I discovered exactly what I used to be
    having a look for. You have ended my 4 day long hunt! God
    Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

     

Leave a Reply

 
